News - Latest - Entertainment
   Web        OGpaper portal          

2007 AL Cy Young Award goes to Sabathia

C.C. Sabathia became the first Cleveland Indians pitcher in 35 years to win the AL Cy Young award.

2007 AL Cy Young Award goes to Sabathia Cleveland Indians ace C.C. Sabathia won the 2007 AL Cy Yung Award, the first in 35 years for the Indians. Sabathia got 19 first-place votes out of 28 for a total of 119 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Sabathia edged Boston's Josh Beckett, who finished second with 8 votes and 86 points, third was John Lackey of the Los Angeles Angels, who got one vote. The only other player from the Cleveland Indians to win the Cy Young Award was Gaylord Perry in 1972.

 The Cleveland left-hand pitcher had a 19-7 record with a 3.21 ERA during the regular season and will get an extra $2.25 million in pay for winning the Cy Young award. C.C. Sabathia will also be eligible for free agency after the 2008 season.

 Published on 11/13/2007

Related News:

 Chargers upset the Colts, Manning breaks record
 College Football Polls: AP Top 25 and BCS Standings after Week 11




Copyright 2005 © . All rights reserved.